FAQ-banner-car-accidents

Can I get compensation because of my car accident?

If you were hurt because of someone else’s actions or lack of actions you can seek compensation for your pain and suffering.

I was just involved in a car accident. What should I do now?

Get yourself to a safe place or if you cannot get to a safe place put your hazard lights on. If possible move your car out of traffic.

Call the police or if the accident is serious call 911, get a police report.

Get medical attention as soon as possible

Call MHM.

My car is wrecked. Should I take pictures?

Yes, take pictures of everything but be careful when walking around your car so you do not endanger yourself in traffic.

Take pictures of your injuries also.

What if I do not know who caused my accident?

New York is a “no-fault” state which means that no matter who caused the accident your own car insurance company will reimburse you for medical bills, 80% of your loss wages up to $2,600, and mileage to and from doctor appointments.

The person who hit me does not have insurance. What do I do?

All insurance policies in New York have to have an “uninsured/underinsured motorists” coverage.

Submit the claim to your own insurance company.

How much time do I have after my accident to decide whether or not to sue?

Different cases have different time limits called “statute of limitations.”

Generally, for most vehicle accidents are 3 years from D.O.I. (date of injury)

I recently suffered physical injuries in an accident. Do I really need to hire an attorney?

Yes, it is our opinion that a represented party will benefit from representation, as licensed attorneys are familiar with the Judicial System and insurance companies. It is worth contacting a personal injury attorney as personal attorney gets paid on a contingent basis. In other words, you do not have to pay for an attorney in NY State for injuries you sustained in a car accident up front. We only get paid at the end from the settlement if we are successful on your behalf.

Can I still get my medical bills paid if I was partially at fault for the accident?

New York is a “no-fault” state which means that no matter who caused the accident your own car insurance company will reimburse you for medical bills, 80% of your loss wages up to $2,600, and mileage to and from doctor appointments.